The Great Gatsby Re-read Project

Gatsby_1925_jacket

So last month I hatched a plan in my mind that I would re-read my top 5 favorite classic books and then I would write an in-depth analysis of it here on my blog. And yes, it will be a literary analysis like the many papers that I’ve written in school but it will be much less formal and, hopefully, fun to read. I thought long and hard over whether this is actually a good idea and whether I’ll actually be able to see this project all the way through. The answer to both questions is I don’t know. But I want to try.

I’ve compiled the list of books and these are the classic books that have made a big impact on and have been important in my reading and writing development. They are:

1. The Great Gatsby by F. Scott Fitzgerald

2. To Kill a Mockingbird by Harper Lee

3. The Catcher in the Rye by J.D. Salinger

4. Lolita by Vladimir Nabokov

5. Pride and Prejudice by Jane Austen

This is order that I will be re-reading these books, starting right now in September. In October it will be To Kill a Mockingbird and so on. Now if you’ve read this far into this post, I would like you to join me this month in reading or re-reading The Great Gatsby. I’m doing this mainly for me because I’m kind of suffering from school withdrawals now that I’m finally out, but it would be great if this could be an interactive thing. I will be making two analysis posts over the course of the month as I make my through the book and I invite you to make your own post on your blog and link it here or to comment. I’ve invited two of my best friends from high school (one a blogger, one not) and they say they’ll partake in this but they’re busy with jobs and having an actual life so I’m not so sure. But whether it’s your first time reading The Great Gatsby or you’re re-reading it, I invite you to join me in this journey.

The Great Gatsby is one of those books that most people are forced to read in high school (I wasn’t because I went to high school in the Philippines) and it’s usually a love it or hate it book. Personally, I love it. I think it’s incredibly well-written and is an important book in American Literature. Is it over-taught? Maybe. Is it not taught well? Maybe. I can’t really speak to that because I’ve never studied it in a school setting, in high school or college. But I do think it’s a shame that it’s so often hated and not usually on good grounds. So I want to take a closer look at this often misunderstood classic and hope that you’ll join me. 

7 thoughts on “The Great Gatsby Re-read Project

      • I went o ATC and they don’t even have Book Sale! And then I rummaged through their (disappointingly small) classical section in NBS and they only really have Paulo Coelho and Murakami books… Then classics like Moby Dick and stuff >_<;

      • What about at SM Bacoor? You can try at Booksale and National over there. You should’ve gone to Fully Booked over at ATC! They’d definitely have The Great Gatsby.

      • I’ve been out and about during weekends meeting friends so I can only check out places where I’m already at. Haha! Later imma go to Rob Imus and gonna check out the store too! Haha!

        We meant to go to Fully Booked in ATC but the movie took our time and it was late so yeah… Kinda missed my chance </3

Leave a Reply

