August 2014: My Month in Books

Books Read:

Why We Broke Up by Daniel Handler

To All the Boys I’ve Loved Before by Jenny Han

Dance Dance Dance by Haruki Murakami

Fear and Loathing in Las Vegas by Hunter S. Thompson

If I Stay by Gayle Forman

The Map of Time by Felix J. Palma

The Giver by Lois Lowry*

Just Kids by Patti Smith

*Re-read

Books Bought:

Van Gogh: The Life by Steven Naifeh and Gregory White Smith

The Enchanter: Nabokov and Happiness by Lila Azam Zanganeh

Isla and the Happily Ever After by Stephanie Perkins

Hyperion by Dan Simmons

Old Man’s War by John Scalzi

How the Irish Saved Civilization by Thomas Cahill

Mr. Fox by Helen Oyeyemi

Never Have I Ever: My Life (So Far) Without a Date by Katie Heaney

The End of Mr. Y by Scarlett Thomas

The Invention of Everything Else by Samantha Hunt

The Map of the Sky by Felix J. Palma

The Marriage Plot by Jeffrey Eugenides

Never Google Heartbreak by Emma Garcia

The Great Mortality: An Intimate History of the Black Death by John Kelly

In the Name of Rome: The Men Who Won the Roman Empire by Adrian Goldsworthy

Sex With Kings by Eleanor Herman

The Pope Who Quit by Jon M. Sweeney

 

Wow, 17 books bought. August was a good reading month for me but it looks like I kind of went crazy on the book buying. In my defense, I sold some of my textbooks and a few other books and then used that money as credit at the bookstore to buy a stack of books. Those would be the last 7 books on the books bought list. So really I just exchanged books for more books. I got quite a few history books as I’m still determined to expand my non-fiction reading horizons and I’ve always loved history. I think that in another life I could have been a History major. If I didn’t find fictional scenarios far more intriguing. As much as I like reading about real history, I far prefer historical fiction. I really like alternative histories and steampunk and novels that puts a fictional spin on real people and/or historical events. This is why I really enjoyed reading The Map of Time. And The Invention of Everything Else is a fictional story about Nikola Tesla. 

The Giver was my re-read this month and I read it such a long time ago (2006 or 2007, I believe) that it was like my first time reading it since I barely remembered anything about it. I haven’t seen the movie yet but based on all that I’ve seen and heard about, it’s not exactly high on my priority list. 

I think I did a good job of adding variety to my reading choices this month and I really plan to keep this up. It’s nice to jump quickly into different genres, it keeps me on my toes. My favorite book that I’ve read this month is Just Kids, which is a surprise to me. There’s just something about it that still has me thinking about it even days after I’ve finished reading it. 

September is going to be a good month for reading, I can feel it. I’ve joined Netgalley so now I have a bunch of books in ebook form that I need to read. The only problem is that I don’t have a Kindle and it’s a bit of a headache to read the tiny print on my phone. I also have a few audiobooks that I downloaded from Audible. I’m a hardcore physical book person, there’s really nothing that can replace the feel of a book in my hands, so it will be interesting to experiment with these different forms and see if I can get used to them. We’ll see how it goes.

Leave a Reply

