55 Quirky Questions for Readers

I’m still relatively new to this book blogging thing so I thought I’d answer these questions so you all could get to know me better. Feel free to answer the questions and leave a link to your post or to answer them below, as I’d love to get to know you all as well. These questions were taken from The Literary Lollipop. Thank you for these! 

1. Favourite childhood book:

Harriet the Spy by Louis Fitzhugh. This is the book that made me want to be a writer. I was also quite obsessed with The Baby-Sitter’s Club series.

2. What are you reading right now?

I’m reading The Map of Time by Felix J. Palma.

3. What books do you have on request at the library?

None right now.

4. Bad book habit:

Buying more books when I literally have no place in my room left to put them. And also buying more books when I haven’t read most of what I already have.

5. What do you currently have checked out at the library?

None right now.

6. Do you have an e-reader?

I have a Kobo but I don’t use it. I tried but I really do prefer reading actual books.

7. Do you prefer to read one book at a time, or several at once?

I prefer to read one book at a time. I have this whole thing where reading more than one book at a time feels like cheating. But then I have some exceptions where if I’m reading fiction, I can read poetry or essays at the same time. But mostly I just stick to one book.

8. Have your reading habits changed since starting a blog?

I think I’m reading more now and faster because I don’t want to go too long between updates to the blog. But then I also happen to have a lot of free time right now so that definitely affects it. I’m also trying to read more widely and with more variety so that I can write about all different types of books.

9.Least favourite book you read this year:

Eleanor & Park by Rainbow Rowell just because I was expecting so much more from it after all the hype I’ve seen and how much its been recommended.

10. Favourite book I’ve read this year:

I am the Messenger by Markus Zusak. I love The Book Thief more but Messenger really cemented Zusak in my mind as a really talented and remarkable writer.

11. How often do you read out of your comfort zone?

I’m trying to be better at it. Non-fiction books about social justice and political issues are out of my comfort zone but I have a few lined up to read.

12. What is your reading comfort zone?

Young Adult fiction, Contemporary Literary fiction, Classics.

13. Can you read on the bus?

Yes. I’m very very glad to not be cursed with motion sickness. Long car/bus rides would be infinitely more boring if I couldn’t read a book.

14. Favourite place to read?

My bed.

15. What’s your policy on book lending?

I usually loan books to anyone that wants to borrow them. But sometimes I have books where I really really like the edition/cover that I have and I designate it as my display copy and never loan it out. If a friend wants to borrow that book I’ll either buy a reading copy and loan it to them or just buy them the book if I think they’ll really like it.

16. Do you dogear your books?

No. Cardinal sin right there.

17. Do you write notes in the margins of your books?

Yes, sometimes. Never on my display copies though. This is why I tend to buy multiple copies of books lol.

18. Do you break/crack the spine of your books?

No, not if I can help it. Sometimes when I buy a book used, the spine will already be cracked or broken.

19. What is your favourite language to read?

English. The only other language I can read in is Tagalog but not very well.

20. What makes you love a book?

If I can connect with the characters in the book, if the plot is really engrossing, and if it’s really well-written. I don’t know, falling in love with a book is a lot like falling in love with a person for me. It’s hard to explain the magic or chemistry that happens…it just happens.

21. What will inspire you to recommend a book?

If I really loved reading it and I want more people to read it so that I can have someone to discuss it with.

22. Favourite genre:

YA, Classics, Literary fiction, Fantasy, Science Fiction.

23. Genre you rarely read (but wish you did?):

Science Fiction. I wish I’ve read more.

24. Favourite Biography:

I haven’t read many biographies and one doesn’t pop immediately to mind. I’m trying to rectify this as I have several biographies lined up to read and more that I’d like to buy.

25. Have you ever read a self-help book? (And, was it actually helpful?)

Yes, I’ve read a couple. Not really.

26. Favourite Cookbook:

Anything about cookies and we’re golden.

27. Most inspirational book you’ve read this year: (fiction or non-fiction):

The Fault in our Stars by John Green. It’s a re-read but it’s the only thing that comes to mind.

28. Favourite reading snack:

Candy bars or chips.

29. Name a case in which hype ruined your reading experience:

Eleanor and Park by Rainbow Rowell. I just expected too much from it and I think I really wanted it to be good that I overlooked a lot of the racism when I shouldn’t have.

30. How often do you agree with the critics about about a book?

I don’t read a lot of critic’s reviews. I read some reviews on Goodreads and there are some that I’ll agree or disagree with but I usually save all that reading for after I’ve read a book and written my own review. 

31. How do you feel about giving bad/negative reviews?

I just try to be honest. If a book didn’t work for me, I’ll try to pinpoint why and what the author could have done better instead of just outrightly bashing a book. 

32. If you could read in a foreign language, which language would you choose?

Spanish or French.

33. Most intimidating book I’ve read:

The Crying of Lot 49 by Thomas Pynchon.

34. Most intimidating book I’m too nervous to begin:

Infinite Jest by David Foster Wallace.

35. Favourite Poet:

Sylvia Plath.

36. How many books do you usually have checked out from the library at any given time?

I used to check out at least 5 books.

37. How often do you return books to the library unread?

I tried to read them all.

38. Favourite fictional character:

Atticus Finch.

39. Favourite fictional villain:

Tom Riddle.

40. Books I’m most likely to bring on vacation:

YA or Fantasy.

41. The longest I’ve gone without reading:

I’ve rarely read anything for pleasure these past 2 years that I’ve been completing my undergraduate degree in English. I’m making up for it now.

42. Name a book you could/would not finish:

Catch-22 by Joseph Heller. I’ve tried twice now to read this book but haven’t been able to get more than a fourth of the way true.

43. What distracts you easily when you’re reading?

A lot of things. I have a short attention span so I usually take breaks while reading to go on Facebook/Instagram/Tumblr or watch TV.

44. Favourite film adaptation of a novel:

The Fault in Our Stars.

45. Most disappointing film adaptation:

The Golden Compass, The Mortal Instruments: City of Bones, The Time Traveler’s Wife. Yeah, there are a lot, lol.

46. Most money I’ve ever spent in a bookstore at one time:

A lot, lol. I prefer not to keep track of that stuff, for my own sanity. Haha.

47. How often do you skim a book before reading it? :

That’s cheating! Lol. I don’t skim through a book. But I have this habit where I always check how many pages are left before I finish a chapter. I never read ahead though.

48. What would cause you to stop reading a book halfway through?:

If I really really can’t stand it anymore.

49. Do you like to keep your books organized?:

I used to be really anal about organizing my books but now I have so many and no room to put them that they’re all just kind of crammed into/onto my bookshelf and around my room.

50. Do you prefer to keep books or give them away once they’ve been read?:

I prefer to keep them. I’m such a book hoarder.

51. Are there any books that you’ve been avoiding?:

Not that I can think of.

52. Name a book that made you angry:

Fifty Shades of Grey lol. 

53. A book I didn’t expect to like but did:

The Confessions of a Shopaholic series.

54. A book I expected to like but didn’t:

Unwind by Neal Shusterman.

55. Favourite guilt-free guilty pleasure reading:

 All books! 😀 And Fanfiction as well.

8 thoughts on “55 Quirky Questions for Readers

  1. Thank you for always loaning your book to me! Dont worry! I’ve been reading them! In fact, I read all ‘The Confession of a Shopaholic’ and loved it so much!!!! I might start ‘The Shining’ next.

    And oh, I… I actually liked the movie adaptation of ‘The Time Traveler’s Wife’ more than the book ;A;

    And YAAAASSSS! Fanfic! I didnt think imma enjoy it as much until I started writing my own! Haha!

    And of course, HARRIET THE SPY! You forgot to mention that aside from being it the reason you enjoy reading, you loved it so much that you made your own spy club! Hahaha!

    And lend me ‘The Book Thief’ please!

  2. Oh wow. Read the summary for The Shining and it’s a pretty intimidating book and faaaakkkk! I hope I don’t get scared shitless while reading this coz I have a faint heart! Ugh! But I only have two more books I haven’t read from the ones you loaned me… Oh my… Maybe I should start and read ‘The Dark is Rising’ first…? Eep!

    • I forgot what books you took. I have a copy of The Book Thief at the house, go get it lol. It’s a big hardcover so I never brought it here. I read The Shining for my Gothic/Horror class last year. It’s not too bad. And that’s coming from me, the biggest scaredy-cat in the world. But reading it for a class and having discussions/analysis of the plot and chapters definitely helped make it less scary. I dunno, just don’t read it at night lol.

      • You loaned me quite a lot of books actually. The Graveyard Book, A Wrinkle in Time, Shopaholic series, The Dark Rising and The Shining! Haha! I might read The Dark is Rising first and leave King’s book last. Haha! Pray for my soul!

        Hey! Imma borrow the book thief okay! And ur HP series! Imma swing by ur house when I finish everything :3 tell your mom! Haha!

    • Did you read The Graveyard Book and A Wrinkle in Time? What’d you think? A Wrinkle in Time is going to be made into a movie. Yeah, just go over to the house and take whatever you want lol. Nabubulok lang mga libro ko doon eh. Hehe. And I literally have nowhere to put my books here now. :/

      • I did! I read both of them (and Ella Enchanted! I forgot to mention from my last messge). The Graveyard Book made me cry… And I was at work when I finished it so it was kinda awkward… Haha! Wait, do i bring back ur books now or what? Maybe I’ll cheat and read The Book Thief first. I checked and The Dark is Rising is actually a series! Huhu… And Im still feeling iffy with The Shining… Ugh. Send me your mom’s cellphone number just in case please? And please warn her! Tell her aim nice naman :3

        And lol, the last time, ur shelf was already full of books. I cant imagine it right now…

      • Reading at work ah…naughty! :p lol

        You don’t have to bring them back lol. I told you you can keep them. I’m not bringing them here. I’ll send you her number through text. She’ll be happy to see you!

        Right now the books are stacked on top of the shelf almost nearly to the ceiling. If we get hit by a big earthquake right here in this area, I’ll probably die beneath my books lol. I also have books piled on the floor. :/

  3. Pingback: 55 Bookish Questions: A Survey | Brin's Book Blog

Leave a Reply

