Musing Mondays

musingmondays51

Musing Mondays asks you to muse about one of the following each week…
• Describe one of your reading habits.
• Tell us what book(s) you recently bought for yourself or someone else, and why you chose that/those book(s).
• What book are you currently desperate to get your hands on? Tell us about it!
• Tell us what you’re reading right now — what you think of it, so far; why you chose it; what you are (or, aren’t) enjoying it.
• Do you have a bookish rant? Something about books or reading (or the industry) that gets your ire up? Share it with us!
• Instead of the above questions, maybe you just want to ramble on about something else pertaining to books — let’s hear it, then!

Musing Mondays is a weekly meme hosted by http://shouldbereading.wordpress.com

I just bought 6 books from Amazon a few hours ago. Aside from one Science Fiction novel, all of them were non-fiction books, which is quite unusual for me. I’m not a big non-fiction reader, unless it’s a book about writing or a memoir, and I really want to change that. The books I bought are:

To Say Nothing of the Dog – Connie Wills

Behind the Beautiful Forevers: Life, Death, and Hope in a Mumbai University – Katherine Boo

Escape From Camp 14: One Man’s Remarkable Odyssey from North Korea to Freedom in the West – Blaine Harden

Quiet: The Power of Introverts in a World That Can’t Stop Talking – Susan Cain

Every Love Story is a Ghost Story: A Life of David Foster Wallace – D.T. Max

Chronicles – Bob Dylan

Fiction is still my favorite thing to read ever but my goal is to really expand my reading horizons. Behind the Beautiful Forevers and Escape From Camp 14 both tackle difficult but really important subject material. I do believe that you can learn a lot about life, morality, and the human condition through fiction, but there is something about reading real stories that actually happened in the world that we’re living in. Quiet is a book that seems really interesting to me, as an introvert myself. David Foster Wallace was a great writer and a really interesting person and I’ve always wanted to learn more about him. I’m always really intrigued by writers, they’re probably the people that fascinate me the most. I haven’t read Infinite Jest yet though and I’m kind of torn on whether I should read that before this biography. And finally, I bought Chronicles because how can resist reading about Bob Dylan’s life as told by Bob Dylan himself? Plus it has really good reviews.

I’d really like to read more biographies/autobiographies on interesting people so if you have any recommendations on any good ones you’ve read or heard about, tell me about it in a comment. I prefer writers, musicians, and historical figures but I’ll take recs on any good ones in general.

One thought on “Musing Mondays

  1. This is a great article! I just bought FIREWALL, by DiAnn Mills. I bought it because she’s my writing mentor, but so far I’m loving it. I hadn’t read any of her work, but her style is sucking me right into the story.

Leave a Reply

